NEWS

YOUR COMMENTS

News Articles

Sangakkara cleared of offence after collision

 

Kumar Sangakkara was found not guilty of breaching the ICC Code of Conduct after colliding with offspinner Nathan McCullum during the abandoned ODI against New Zealand in Dambulla.

Sangakkara cleared of offence after collision
Kumar Sangakkara was found not guilty of breaching the ICC Code of Conduct after colliding with offspinner Nathan McCullum during the abandoned ODI against New Zealand in Dambulla. He had been initially charged with breaking clause 2.2.4 which deals with “inappropriate and deliberate physical contact between Players in the course of play during an International Match”. But match referee Alan Hurst cleared him of any offence.
 
The incident occurred in the 27th over of the Sri Lankan innings. Sangakkara guided a McCullum delivery to fine leg and set off for a run. He was turning for the second when he bumped into the bowler, who had his back to Sangakkara. McCullum complained to the umpire and Sangakkara also had words with him.
 
Had Sangakkara been found guilty, he could have been fined between 50 to 100% of his match fee and/or handed two suspension points (a ban of a Test or two ODIs or two Twenty20s).
 
“I looked at video footage of the incident from various angles and considered the detailed evidence of the umpires. I found that video evidence that was put forward by the player provided reasonable doubt as to whether the contact was deliberate,” Hurst said.
 
Mahela Jayawardene defended his captain after the match. “I saw the replay afterwards. Sanga was blind when he turned around,” he said. “I think you just need to concentrate on cricket rather than all the other things.”
 
He said the two players spoke to each other about the collision after the match. “Both the guys came and had a good chat in the dressing room. It’s done and dusted.
 
(CI)
Posted in: Sports
Comment(s)
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment
Only registered users may post comments.
 
 

 

.